Jump to content

John M

BFE Members
  • Content Count

    176
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by John M

  1. Happy New Year Gareth, and a massive thanks to all the BFE Staff who work so hard to make this site what it is. John
  2. They have a stream on Soundcloud but no track called Adventure or anything similar. The stream can be found here: Mathew and Me Soundcloud Stream . John
  3. Today , I received, as I assume everyone did, an email with the latest information regarding the resumption of sailings. A very pleasant email which included a link to the 12 point guide. I read the guide and I felt it all made sense and, if we all adhere to the 12 points, I am sure we will have an uneventful, safe crossing. One thing, however, has made me question what is going on in BF at the moment. Whilst the email came to my correct email address which I have had registered with BF for many years, the greeting which started the email was " Dear Siobhan". Siobhan is my adult daughter. She
  4. I believe it applied to requests for RCN's submitted prior to 31st May. Today's message said is that if they cancel your sailing they will email you with your options. John.
  5. We were due to travel Plymouth - Roscoff on 25th June, returning 12th July. I had booked an economy ticket so paid the full amount. I submitted a form to request a RCN on 27/05/2020. Today I received an email with a single RCN for the full cost, valid for two years. Perhaps this is an indication that they are starting to up their game on the customer service front. John
  6. A friend of mine was notified by phone on Monday that the camp site we are both booked on will open on 16th June yet there is no announcement on their web page or their Facebook page. I wonder where we stand if they open but BF do not start running again. I am due to travel Ply - Ros night ferry 25th June. John
  7. Thank you for your answers, some interesting points. My wife and I go to France twice a year, end of June into July and end of August into September. This year we took advantage of the new booking system and chose the cheapest (but non-amendable) price. As a result we have paid the total for both trips. We have pretty much accepted that we will not see France this year but, looking on the bright side, we do not have to find the money next year as we will have vouchers. As I say you have to look on the bright side. Take care everyone and be safe. John
  8. It may be the case that normal service does not resume until after September 2020. When this does resume do you think that those people who have had sailings cancelled for 2020 should be given priority booking for 2021. Perhaps we could have the opportunity to book one week prior to the opening of bookings for everyone else. I am just interested in peoples opinions. John
  9. I am going to play devils advocate here. Are we all a bit ticked off because we cannot travel, yes of course we are. Are we ticked off because we are potentially going to miss out on our holiday/ trip, yes of course we are. Are BF dealing with this in the best manner, no they are not. Or are they? Bearing in mind that no-one knows when things will change enough to try and get back to normal. Neither do we know how long it will take to get back to normal, (and we all have a different view of what is normal). So BF, as with many other multi-national companies, are trying to put in place things w
  10. Khaines has already touched on this website which covers all of Europe. https://chargemap.com/
  11. I have my tickets for two return trips this year, all of them clearly state, "You have an allowance of £8.50 towards breakfast items only, this must be spent in a single transaction at any food outlet x 2". I would have thought such a change as you mention would have led to an amended ticket being issued.
  12. John M

    BF survey

    As soon as I saw that the survey was being conducted by a third party, I closed it down and deleted. In such cases your data ends up being shared with all sorts of weird sites. Surprised and disappointed at BF for using such a provider.
  13. You are correct Jonno, but with the excess and prospect of a higher premium next year it was not worth the trouble.
  14. And my reply was totally in jest. I am sorry if it seemed as though I was having a pop at you Ed, that was not my intent. 😃 John.
  15. Ha, ha, what a mixture of emotions your post brought me Cabin-boy. Flattery, hilarity and then wonder at how your mind works, lol. As it happens the picture is me, a 62 year old Scottish civil servant, six feet tall, 21 stone and heavily tattooed. Many of you will have seen me on BF journeys and not batted an eyelid but thank you for the laugh you gave me, I don't know how you knew about the apricot poodle though, lol. I will look at profile pictures in a different light now.
  16. Thank you all very much for your opinions and advice. As this is the first issue to speak of from using BF for twenty or so years, we decided to put it down to experience. Imagine my surprise when I received an email from Christophe Mathieu offering a full explanation of the situation and an apology for the disruption caused to my travel plans. In recognition of the inconvenience I have been offered a credit of 25% of my outward journey fare. As a result of this offer, ( which I will gladly and thankfully accept), I am of the view that the fact that he chose to contact me and make this offer i
  17. I used my Barclay credit card on the Armorique in June with no problems.
  18. We know the area very well and did try several alternatives. Sadly with it being a bank holiday week in France accommodation is at a premium. We did consider our travel insurance but each hotel would be a separate claim and with a £75 excess it would not be worth the hassle. Thank you for your reply.
  19. We are booked on the Thursday night sailing from Plymouth - Roscoff on the Pont Aven. I have been keeping an eye on the web site for any cancellation or change to my booking. We have booked a hotel in Plymouth for Wednesday night intending to have a leisurely day in Plymouth prior to the sailing. Something made me call BF last Thursday only to be told that our sailing was cancelled. Our options were to go out a day later or a day earlier. We now sail on Wednesday night on the Armorique. Sadly our campsite cannot fit us in a day early so we have had to book a hotel in France for one night. Long
  20. With the greatest of respect, I think this is down to expectations.Lets face it, although BF has, through Club Voyage, had our loyalty and money through the years, we have had much more than our membership value back in discounted fares.I think what you describe is a nice gesture of thanks, after all, that is what it is meant to be, a gesture, not a prize. John
  21. Thank you for that insight into the BDS. I was quite surprised to see a dog being walked off the lead. If something scared a dog I can only imagine the situation that may develop. John
  22. Just to clarify things, I fully understand the way I can use my Club Voyage to help a friend. A friend who we meet every year in France normally travels Cork - Roscoff with Ir ish Ferries. IF have now dropped that route and I said that if they ended up on BF then I would let them use my CV family and friends discount. I am in no way trying to use the system against the rules. Thanks for all the answers. John
  23. Good morning all. I have a France Club Voyage membership. If a friend is travelling Cork - Roscoff can I give them my code to get a discount and, if so, does anyone know what discount they would get. Many thanks in anticipation. John
  24. I recently travelled on the Thursday night Plymouth Roscoff crossing as we do twice a year. We had gone to the port earlier in the afternoon as we had seen on this site that things had changed at Plymouth. We came back later for the early boarding. We passed through the ticket booths and were given clear, simple instructions, i.e. move forward and go into lane 15. As we reached the car in front of us we stopped, switched off the engine and waited to move through the customs shed. A BF employee came and stood a few feet away from us and was telling the drivers which lane to go into. One driver
  25. Firstly please let me relate the tale of our recent holiday travel. We sailed Plymouth - Roscoff overnight 9th June. We had received a text message to say the Pont was running late from Santander so early boarding would not be possible. We joined the queue in plenty of time and passed through the first checkpoint without incident. We waited a short time to be called through the search building where it became obvious that only about one in ten vehicles were being searched and even then only a cursory check. We settled in the holding area only to be surprised by the loading starting after only
×
×
  • Create New...