Hi All

I'm a newbie on this forum, so please excuse me if this question has already been asked or answered in the past.

As an avid builder of radio-controlled model ships, I'm considering the possibility of building a working model of Bretagne, Normandie or possibly Barfleur. To do so, I would need as very minimum, some General Arrangement drawings (detailed plans) of the ships. Does anybody here know of someone who has built models of any BF ships, who has such drawings or even know contacts at BF I could speak to to request drawings?

Any advice gratefully received.

Regards,

Jean-Paul from London

PS: Below is a YouTube video of my latest model, to give you an idea of the sort of thing I do: 

• Like 5

Is that one of Carl Tunnicliffe's Linkspan Model Kits?

I did see the model below of Bretagne back in 2007 at the Warwick Model Boat Show but it isn't a true scale model.

It is actually very difficult to get hold of accurate drawngs of modern vessels for reasons of commercial confidentiality and probably also because they are no longer 'drawings' as such but CAD files.

DSCN1382.JPG

DSCN1383.JPG

Just now, cvabishop said:

I did see the model below of Bretagne back in 2007 at the Warwick Model Boat Show but it isn't a true scale model.

It is actually very difficult to get hold of accurate drawngs of modern vessels for reasons of commercial confidentiality and probably also because they are no longer 'drawings' as such but CAD files.

FN, really nice model you built there.

Aside from commercial confidentiality, as mentioned by Cvabishop, copies of ship drawings, plans etc to third parties could be seen as a security risk.

It could still be worth a try though. You might want to stress that you only want exterior plans!

10 hours ago, cvabishop said:

DSCN1383.JPG